How to Revoke, Unrevoke or Expire Product Access - SureCart

No results found. Try again with different words?

Search must be at least 3 characters.

How to Revoke, Unrevoke or Expire Product Access

If you are selling a digital product, SureCart also manages to grant product access to your customers after their purchase.

This will be very useful when you are selling digital products. For example, if you want to start selling a copy of your music album for download.

You can easily do this by creating a SureCart product, uploading your downloadable file, in this case, your album, and then saving it for purchase.

After your customers purchase your album, they’ll get a link where they can download the file directly from your shop.

This all happens automatically and the access and links are both sent to their emails and added to their customer dashboard for easy access.

Part of being able to manage this access is also the ability to revoke it. There may be times when you may want to remove and control the access should there be any issues that arise after the purchase.

Other reasons may be:

  • Limit distribution of your downloadable products
  • Preventing unauthorized usage
  • Discontinuing a user’s privileges for a particular service

With SureCart you have full control over your products and everything you sell. You can revoke or even restore/unrevoke or expire access any time you want.

Now, let’s see how to revoke/unrevoke or expire product access in SureCart.

Revoking Product Access

The process for revoking access to digital products and subscriptions is the same and pretty straightforward. You can simply follow the steps below:

  1. On your WordPress Dashboard, locate SureCart > Customers.
  1. Look for the Customer that you want to remove access to and click their name.
  2. On the Customer Page, look for the section that says Purchases, and click Revoke on the products that you want to remove their access to.
  1. Click Revoke Purchase on the popup modal.

From here the customer will no longer be able to access the product or subscription, nor will they be able to see it from their Customer Dashboard.

Unrevoking Product Access

If you’ve made a mistake or would like to restore access to that certain customer, you can also easily do that.

  1. On your WordPress Dashboard, locate SureCart > Customers.
  1. Look for the Customer that you want to restore access to and click their name.
  2. On the Customer Page, look for the section that says Products, and click Unrevoke on the products that you want to restore their access to.
  1. Click Unrevoke Purchase on the popup modal.

After this, the customer’s access should be restored and they will be able to access the product once again.

Expiring Access for One-Time Product Purchases

This feature works for all one-time payments in SureCart.

If you ever need to sell a one-time product for a limited time, For example, a 1-month LearnDash webinar, you can use the Expire access option and set it to end after 30 days.

After 30 days, the customer’s access to the purchased webinar will expire.

Such a feature can be especially useful for digital products with one-time prices.

You can activate this directly from your product’s interface instead of going to the Customer section.

Navigate to the Products section and select your desired product.

Toggle the Expire access button and enter the number of days after which you want to revoke the product’s access.

Now, your customer’s webinar product will automatically expire after 30 days.

By following the steps outlined in this guide, you can confidently navigate the world of product access management, ensuring the security, integrity, and efficiency of your online business.

If you face any issues with the above, please reach out to our support team. We’re always happy to help!

Was this article helpful?


Did not find a solution? We are here to help you succeed.

Start Selling With SureCart Today

Start for Free – No Credit Card Required

Start Selling With SureCart Today

Start for Free – No Credit Card Required

Trusted by Thousands of Businesses
Trusted by Thousands of Businesses
Start for Free. No Credit Card Required
World Class Support Team
Scroll to Top